Connect with us


NASS: Omo-Agege, Ossai, Lead Mid-term Score Cards Of Delta State Lawmakers



The representative of Delta Central Senatorial District and Deputy Senate President from the All Progressive Congress, His Excellency, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege has emerged the Best Senator from Delta State while the member representing Ndokwa/Ukwuani Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Ossai Nicholas Ossai of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) came top amongst members of the House of Representatives from Delta.

This was contained in the 9th National Assembly Mid-Term Assessment Report conducted by Order Paper Nigeria in collaboration with Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Civics and Coalition of Nigeria Compatriots (CNC) and made available to newsmen in Delta State.

The mid-term report indicated that Senator Omo-Agege of APC, sponsored the highest number of bills of 20, amounting to 83.33 % of all the bills sponsored by the three senators from the state.

The report added that 16 of the bills were sponsored in the first legislative year of the 9th Assembly, prominent among which was the passed Sexual Harassment Bill.

It added that the duo of Senator James Manager and Senator Peter Nwaoboshi sponsored two bills each, representing 8.33%, adding that while Senator Manager sponsored a bill in each year, Senator Nwaoboshi sponsored both in the second legislative year.

The report aggregated the score cards of the three senators to represent 3.2% of the total 747 bills sponsored at the Senate in two years.

It stated that out of the 92 bills sponsored by the 10 representatives from the state, the member representing the Ndokwa/Ukwuani Federal Constituency, Honourable Ossai Nicholas Ossai, had 44 to his credit, representing 83%, adding that 30 of his bills were sponsored in the first legislative year.

The report disclosed further that Honourable Efe Afe and Honourable Ben Igbakpa sponsored 12 bills each, amounting to 13.04%, adding that Honourable Afe sponsored three of his bills in the first legislative year.

It stated that Honourable Ndudi Elumelu, who is the Minority Leader in the House, sponsored nine bills, representing 9.78%, adding that they were all sponsored in the first legislative year, just as it said that Honourable Waive Francis sponsored eight, standing at 8.7%, with one of the bills in the first legislative year.

The duo of Honourable Thomas Ereyitomi and Honourable Victor Nwaokolo were reported to have sponsored three bills each, leaving Honourable Nicholas Mutu and Honourable Leo Ogor with no bills sponsored in the mid-term report, adding that it would be recalled that Honourable Mutu had been in the House since 1999 and was the Majority Leader in the 7th Assembly of the House.

In all, the representatives of Delta State at the 9th National Assembly scored 6.7% of the 1365 bills sponsored in the House of Representatives as indicated in the mid-term report of the National Assembly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Nigeria Wave. All Rights Reserved