Connect with us


Omo-Agege inaugurates APC campaign Council, urges Deltans to vote out PDP



The Deputy Senate President and Delta APC Governorship Candidate, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege has charged Deltans to vote out the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the forthcoming General Elections.

Speaking at the inauguration of APC Campaign Organisation in Asaba on Monday, Senator Omo-Agege lamented that the outgoing Okowa-led administration has held the state to ransome in the last seven years.

The governorship candidate assured that the APC administration in the State will establish a strong, resilient, inclusive and prosperous economy that generates opportunity, jobs and wealth, while lifting the masses out of poverty, through the implementation of people-oriented programmes and policies.

He lamented the humongous loans collected by Governor Okowa, pointing out that he is mortgaging the future of the state.

Omo-Agege said the PDP Governorship candidate and Speaker of the State Assembly, Rt Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori is a stooge of the governor and has thrown the principles of checks and balances to the dustbin.

Inaugurating the body, Omo-Agege said: “We must take back our dear State from Governor Ifeanyi Okowa who with his cohorts, have held our state hostage. After over seven years of Okowa, one thing we all agree on is that there is a huge gap between the funds Delta State received, generated and borrowed; even recklessly, and what Okowa’s government has done. This has left our state seriously undermined in so many ways that are too numerous to count. Okowa misused and wasted our hard-earned resources. And when the state ran out of funds, he embarked on a reckless borrowing spree, thereby mortgaging our future and those of our unborn children.

“And now he wants to handover to his stooge, Speaker Sheriff Francis Oborevwori whose House which he heads, approved every kobo that was wasted and stolen to protect himself from accountability. For the years of Sheriff’s speakership, the Delta State House of Assembly has been a rubber stamp, giving everything Okowa asks for without effective oversight, thereby undermining the entire idea of the Separation of Powers enshrined in our Constitution as well as weakening our democracy.

“We all remember what happened to Rt. Hon. Monday Igbuya when he dared to ask questions, when he tried to do his job and provide the checks and balances our Constitution demands. He was fired for trying to scrutinize executive actions as the legislature must do. And because power corrupts and absolutely power corrupts absolutely, we ended up with an uncontrolled state government that has since turned its back on the people of Delta State.

“It is common knowledge to all that the present ruling People’s Democratic Party – PDP in Delta has failed woefully in bestowing credible and visionary leadership to drive the yearnings of our people. In all development indices, Delta State under PDP cannot compete with neighbouring States in education, agriculture and quality infrastructure. This is a big shame for a State that had been a pace setter, first with our sister Edo, as Bendel, and even as Delta State since 1991. Delta State is the highest receiver of Federal allocation and 13 per cent derivation, yet, the State is also the second most indebted State in the country. The seemingly chaotic socio-political and economic environment in Delta State requires a leader with the necessary skills and knowledge, to work with a qualified team to address the systemic bottlenecks that have hindered the development of the State.

“Are we ready for another four years of that nonsense, another four years of plundering and stealing, another four years of drift? All of us here today do not want to see more of the past very terrible years of Okowa-Oborevwori tyranny. We want our state back. The gross misuse and total waste of scarce resources has cost Delta state so much and this must stop”.

He stressed that APC’s manifesto seeks to rebuild and reinvigorate the state by tackling the scary rate of unemployment by prioritizing public investment in agriculture and tech-driven entrepreneurship.

On his part, the Director General of the campaign organisation and former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Elder Goddey Orubebe assured that the list of the campaign organisation would be expanded in the coming days.

He asked party members to cooperate with the campaign organisation, even as he called for unity and cooperation amongst party members.

“As many people as possible will be brought in to the campaign team. The campaign organisation does not know everything. We are ready to learn from everybody. Any idea you have bring it. We will sit down and work with you. Our office will be 24 hours open. We are ready to work with everybody”.

This sentiment was also shared by the state party chairman and Co-Chairman of the campaign organisation, Elder Omeni Sobotie who assured that the list would be reviewed.

He called on Deltans to vote all APC candidates across board.

The APC campaign organisation has Senator Omo-Agege as Chairman; Elder Sobotie as Co-Chairman: Rt. Hon. Friday Osanebi (Deputy Chairman); Barr. Francis Obigbor (Co-Deputy Chairman); Elder Orubebe as Director General; and Chief of Staff to the Deputy Senate President, Dr Otive Igbuzor as Deputy DG.

Listed as Vice Chairmen of the campaign organisation are Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo SAN, Olorogun O’tega Emerhor, Rt. Hon. Victor Ochei, Dr. Cairo Ojougboh, Chief Paulinus Akpeki, Justice Freshman Daubry (rtd), Dr. Alex Ideh, Chief Lucky Okperi, Chief Lucky Esigie as well as Dr Eugene Okolocha (Secretary) and Nick Ovuokporie (Deputy Secretary) respectively.

Also on the list are former presidential spokesman, Olorogun Ima Niboro (Director, Communications and Media Strategy), Dr. Chris Oghenechowen (Director, Logistics and Protocol), Chike Memeh (Director, Finance), Godwin Anaughe (Director, Strategy and Elections), Barr. Alex Onwuadiamu (Director, Planning and Research), and Barr. Bosin Ebikeme (Director, Contact and Mobilization).

Those listed as Advisers include the senator representing Delta North Senatorial District, Sen. Peter Nwaoboshi; member representing Ughelli North/Ughelli South/Udu Federal Constituency Rev. Hon Francis Waive; APC National Publicity Secretary, Barr. Felix Morka, and Dr. Ibe Kachikwu.

Others are High Chief Johnny Michael, Dr (Mrs) Veronica Ogbuagu, Chief Ede Dafinone, Chief Joel Onowakpor Thomas, Hon. Temi Harriman, Ms. Stella Okotete, Prophet Jones Erhue, Hon. Halims Agoda, Chief Ayiri Emami, Dr Ngozi Olejeme, Prof. Leroy Edozien, and Hon. Doris Uboh, among others.

Senatorial coordinators include Dr. Austin Izagbo (Delta North), Chief Chief Ominimini Obiuwevwi (Delta Central) as well as Prince Yemi Emiko (Delta South).

Ima Niboro
Director, Communications and Media Strategy,
Delta APC Campaign Organisation.

© Nigeria Wave. All Rights Reserved