Connect with us


Delta to Establish 19 New Technical Colleges



Commissioner for Information, Mr. Charles Aniagwu (middle); Commissioner for Economic Planning, Barry Perebge (right) and the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Delta State, Mr. Oliseh Ifejika, during Post Exco Briefing at Press Centre Government House Asaba



The Government of Delta State says 19 new technical colleges will be established across its three senatorial districts in fulfillment of the campaign promises of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.

The Commissioner for Information, Mr Charles Aniagwu, made this known while briefing newsmen on the outcome of State Executive Council meeting on Tuesday in Asaba.

Aniagwu, who was in company with his Economic Planning counterpart, Hon. Barry Peregbe, stated that the meeting which was presided by the Deputy Governor, Mr Kingsley Otuaro, gave the approval because of success recorded at the revamped colleges in the state.

The Benin-Sapele, Benin-Onitsha and Agbor-Abraka-Eku whose failed portions are to be rehabilitated by the State government was also approved for construction.

He disclosed that Federal Government’s permission to Delta Government to rehabilitate the roads was received on Thursday, adding that contractors had been mobilised to the spots.

“You are aware that commuters are facing a lot of hardship on the roads; it has become so difficult to enter Onitsha, because the road at the Asaba end of the bridge is very bad.

“The good news is that Federal Government has reached out to us to repair these roads and we are very optimistic that by the time we are done, the government will attend to us for the purpose of refunds.

“We are more concerned with the safety of our people and that is why we are committed to fixing these roads which will take more than N1 billion,” Aniagwu said.

He said that the council approved the construction of 2.3 km Benekrukru road in Warri South West and that it also approved Obi Frederick Egbankonye as the traditional ruler of Aballa Kingdom in Ndokwa East Local Government Area.

He also stated that to check the impact of flood on Deltans who are living in coastal communities, five amps for internally displaced persons was approved to be set up in Asaba, Kwale, Patani, Ozoro and Ashaka.

Aniagwu added that more than 10 camps would be set up “depending on the impact of the impending flood on the people”.

On his part, Peregbe said that the council had approved for the governor to present the 2020 Appropriation Bill to the House of Assembly in October.

He added that the Fiscal Strategy Framework for the state was presented to the council at the meeting and that it discussed and approved.

The chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr Olisa Ifeajika also attended the briefing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Nigeria Wave. All Rights Reserved